How to Block Someone on Discord –

How to Block Someone on Discord

In this article, I’ll show you how to block someone on Discord. The Internet allows us to connect with billions of people from all over the world. The downside is, it allows us to also relate to billions of people from around the world who are less well-behaved.

If you’ve ever played a Discord game with open chat, you know how rude or socially incompetent some people can be. Even in close-knit groups of friends, there may be people whose behavior is problematic and makes the experience less enjoyable for everyone.

Spamming chats or sending abusive messages are the types of toxic behavior that can be a nuisance. Therefore, you might be looking for a way to block this person or avoid dealing with him.

Fortunately, if you use Discord and host your chat session, there are tools available to help you block someone on Discord whose behavior is problematic.

Multiple Options for Blocking Someone on Discord

When it comes to dealing with toxic individuals on Discord, there are several options to choose from. This includes options to block, mute, bend, kick, or ban individuals. While each of these options can help deal with troublemakers, they all serve slightly different purposes.

  • Blocking: Blocking users prevents them from being able to communicate with you via text. They can still see your messages and can see your online status.
  • Muting: Mute is similar but for voice channels. The user you muted can’t talk on the channel, but can still hear what the chat is saying.
  • Deafen: it also works on the voice channel and prevents the user from listening to what is being said.
  • Kicks: of course, means being kicked completely from the channel or server. However, users can rejoin the server after being kicked if they are invited back.
  • Tire: A blocked user will be logged off the server and unable to rejoin. In addition, administrators can optionally choose to delete their messages on the server during the last 24 hours or the past seven days, if the administrator feels the user contribution is so toxic that it needs to be removed.

Whether to block, mute, kick, or ban a user is, of course, your decision as the server administrator.

Here are the steps to take to block someone on Discord on Windows PC, Android, iOS and Mac:

How to Block Someone on Discord on Windows PC

  1. Go to Discord.com or download the desktop app.
  2. Open your message with the user you want to block or search for them in the search bar.

  3. Right-click on the username that you want to block.
  4. Click Block, and a dropdown menu will appear.
  5. After the confirmation window appears, click Block again to complete the process.

How to Block Someone on Discord on Android

  1. Open the Discord app.
  2. Open your message with the person you want to block. Or, search for their username.

  3. Tap their profile photo. Then click on the three dots on the right side of the screen.

  4. Click Blocks.

How to Block Someone on Discord on iOS

  1. Open the Discord app.
  2. Open your message with the person you want to block.
  3. You can also search for their username from the search bar.
  4. Tap their profile photo. Then click on the three dots on the right side of the screen.

  5. Click Blocks.

How to Block Someone on Discord on Mac

  1. Go to discord.com or the desktop application.
  2. Open your message with the user you want to block or search for their username in the search bar.

  3. Right click on the username.
  4. Click Block, and a dropdown menu will appear.
  5. After the confirmation window appears, click Block again.

Frequently Asked Questions

If I block someone, will they still be able to see my messages?

If you block someone but stay on the same server as them then yes, other users can see your messages. The message will appear as hidden but the blocked user has the option to reveal your message and view its contents.

Will someone know that I have blocked them?

Yes and no. Discord will not send a warning to the user that they have been blocked. Users will know because you no longer appear on their friends list and if you are still on the same server, a message will appear informing the user that they have been blocked by you.

How to unblock someone on Discord?

Navigate to your Discord Friends list, here you can see who you have blocked. And from here, you can unblock users that you previously blocked.

Leave a Comment